Zanzibar University is a full member of the following institutions:

  1. The Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA)
  2. The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
  3. The Association of African Universities (AAU)
  4. Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals – Tanzania (CVCP-T)
  5. Tanzania Association of Private Universities (TAPU)
  6. Tanzania Education Research Network (TERNET)
  7. Tanzania Universities Sports Association (TUSA)
  8. Tanzania Counselling and Guidance Association (TACOGA)